Thursday, April 07, 2011

MD-House: Call to Action in Annapolis

Thankfully, this is the last week of the Maryland legislative session and things are moving quickly.  That means that we must be ever vigilant for tax increases and pro-criminal legislation.  After all, MD Democrats have a penchant to pass those things during the final days of the session.  Most of the action will be taking place in the House, as they plan to vote today on several odious pieces of legislation that already passed the Senate.  Here are the bills that might come up for a vote today or tomorrow.  Please contact your three state reps and politely, but firmly, request that they oppose these tax increases, handouts to illegals, and benefits for criminals.  You can email them here, or call the General Assembly switchboard at 1-800-492-7122.

  • SB167/HB470- This is the Maryland Dream Act which allows illegal aliens to receive in-state tuition.  This is a priority piece of legislation for the Democrat leadership, even though it violates the core rules of law that they swore to uphold.  In addition, it will cost the state millions and crowd out legal Marylanders from their opportunity to receive a college education.
  • SB172/HB 302- Last week, the Senate passed a bill to grant the parole board the authority to issue parole which would automatically take effect unless the governor actively vetoes it.  Currently, parole can only be granted with the approval of the governor.  The new law is intended to alleviate the parole process and make it easier for violent criminals to get back on the streets; just the way liberals prefer.  [See this article for more information]
  • SB 994-Alcohol Tax- The Senate has already passed an alcohol tax hike which would levy a 9% tax (an extra 3% to the regular sales tax) on liquor, wine, and beer.  The House Ways and Means Committee is planning to take up the bill today and decide whether they want to incrementally raise the tax 1% every year for the next three years, or impose the full 3% increase immediately.  Call the members of the Ways and Means Committee and tell them that Marylanders pay enough in taxes.
Here is a list of those members: 

Sheila E. Hixson, Chair (410) 841-3469, (301) 858-3469
Samuel I. Rosenberg, Vice-Chair (410) 841-3297, (301) 858-3297
Kathryn L. Afzali
Kumar P. Barve
Joseph C. Boteler III
Talmadge Branch
Jon S. Cardin
Mark N. Fisher
C. William Frick
Ronald A. George
Glen Glass
Carolyn J. B. Howard
Jolene Ivey
Anne R. Kaiser
Eric G. Luedtke
Aruna Miller
LeRoy E. Myers, Jr.
Justin D. Ross
Andrew A. Serafini
Melvin L. Stukes
Michael G. Summers
Frank S. Turner
Jay Walker

No comments: